AFCON 2022 (Teams Playing in the AFCON)

Originally scheduled for July 2021, the Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) will be played in Cameroon starting 9th January to 6th February 2022. The tournament comprises of 24 teams that battle it out in groups to make it to the big stage – Finals. 

Tip: The only team that gets an automatic qualification is the host. 

In the six groups, each consisting of 4 teams, a single round-robin is applied. After the group stage, 8 teams go home. The teams proceeding to the round of 16 are the top-2 teams in each group and four ‘best’ third-placed teams. 

As the tournament fades, it gets more interesting: 

From the round of 16, the winner proceeded to the quarter-final. Consequently, the winners of the quarter-final make it to the semi-finals. As usual, the losers of the semi-finals compete for third place, while the winner of the same contest plays the final match. 

Although COVID-19 has proved to persist, the teams are set for the tournament.

AFCON defending champions:


On 19th July 2019, Algeria won the Africa Cup of Nations by defeating Senegal 1-0. This was Algeria’s 1st AFCON title since 1990. With the likes of Riyad Mahrez and Baghdad Bounedjah who play for Manchester City and Al Sadd respectively, Algeria (The Desert Warriors) remains a top-rated team in Africa. After proving in Cairo International Stadium, Djamel Belmadi is set to do it again in Olembe Stadium, Yaounde.  


A total of 24 teams qualified for the AFCON title. 

Group A

  1. Cameroon
  2. Burkina Faso
  3. Ethiopia
  4. Cape Verde

Group B

  1. Senegal
  2. Zimbabwe
  3. Guinea
  4. Malawi

Group C

  1. Morocco
  2. Ghana
  3. Comoros
  4. Gabon

Group D

  1. Nigeria
  2. Egypt
  3. Sudan
  4. Guinea-Bissau

Group E

  1. Algeria
  2. Sierra Leone
  3. Eq Guinea
  4. Ivory Coast

Group F

  1. Tunisia
  2. Mali
  3. Gambia
  4. Mauritania

Hint: AFCON 2022’s official match ball is called TOGHU. 

Match officials:

A total of 24 referees will officiate the AFCON matches. There will also be 31 assistant referees and 8 VARs. All these match officials are from 36 African countries. 

Venues and stadiums:

Six Cameronian cities, and Six Stadiums!

Olembe Stadium – Yaoundé,

Stade Ahmadou Ahidjo – Yaoundé,

Japoma Stadium – Douala,

Limbe Stadium – Limbe,

Koue Kong Stadium – Bafoussam

Roumde Adjia Stadium – Garoua,

From the tournament’s history, no team is considered a favourite. Every team is a team to watch. However, Algeria, Cameroon, Senegal, Nigeria and Egypt and Ghana are on a mission to make history.